The Power in the PIVATS

closingthegap

I am an English Teacher by trade. I’ve been ploughing the field of the English Education system for quite some time and so, I’ve seen the fads come. I’ve seen them go. So when I first saw PIVATS 4, I was sceptical.

The conversion didn’t take long! I soon recognised that for the world of SEND, it provided a systematic overview of the way that we as teachers can plan and assist our students in achieving the milestones and skills which are so often taken for granted. Regardless of age or ability, there was something there for most learners. There was a step to be attained; a goal to be achieved.

Yet, there are elements which infuriated me! How can a student, whose writing is lively and entertaining and filled with myriad devices be relegated to a stage 2 just because their spelling needs work or their handwriting needs a bit more shaping? You see, with PIVATS, students would have to attain all 5 Performance Indicators for a stage before they are allowed to move to another stage. In the areas that pertain to handwriting and spelling this bothered me profoundly! Yes, I know these things are important. They make the journey of life that much more easier to travel. However, we are alive in one of the greatest centuries ever known to man! We live in a Time where software underlines our typing in red when we get it wrong. So surely, these elements, though important, should never hold students back or give a blighted impression of their intelligence when witnessed in a data field?

Although it still irks, I have moved on from things that I can not change. The serenity prayer of life has helped me to recognise something about this new post- levels world that we live in. Previously, when I worked with a KS3 Assessment Group, I felt that the removal of levels was just another avenue for schools to pretend innovation and recreate the levels from the past. However, as time has past, I have come to realise that there is a life beyond levels. Ironically, PIVATS is central to this.

I started off by giving my students a baseline Maths assessment that would expose their strengths and weaknesses across the Maths Curriculum. Then I developed a colour coded spreadsheet that would clearly highlight where students’ strengths and weaknesses are. Once I did this, I was able to clearly able to see the gaps in knowledge of my students and therefore provide a more personalised curriculum that helped my students to close these gaps. Beyond this, I began to see the potential for me as a classroom teacher. I would be able to use this to identify areas which I might need to approach differently when teaching or areas that required further research before recapping these elements with my students. As an English Teacher, teaching the Maths Curriculum, I have never felt more empowered in my practice.

So yes, there is power in the PIVATS and it does not rest in the name of a stage. It rests in the fact that when used properly, it can truly make way for progress. If used correctly, this can be an assessment tool which helps to show what our students do and do not know and provide a blue print of where we can take each and every one of them. Of course, some may argue that PIVATS are limited. They only go up to what is roughly a Year 4 Equivalent. For some SEND settings this is sufficient. Where it is not, SEND schools and centres must be bolshie and innovative enough to create a comparative year 5 and above equivalent so that no potential is wasted; no potential untapped!

 

 

Leave a Reply

